The String Quartet No. 1 in E flat major, Op. 12, was composed by Felix Mendelssohn in 1829, completed in London on September 14 (though begun in Berlin) and possibly dedicated to Betty Pistor, a neighbor and the daughter of a Berlin astronomer.

Date of composition 1829 (completed in London on September 14) in London, United Kingdom
Type String Quartet
Tonality E-flat Major
Catalogue Op. 12
Approx. duration 25 minutes
Instruments Cello
2x Violin
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: Quatuor à cordes n°1 en mi bémol majeur, Op. 12
Felix Mendelssohn: Quartetto d'archi n. 1 in mi bemolle maggiore, Op. 12
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Streichquartett Nr. 1 Es-dur, Op. 12