The Symphony No. 5 in D major/D minor, Op. 107, known as the Reformation, was composed by Felix Mendelssohn in 1830 in honor of the 300th anniversary of the Presentation of the Augsburg Confession. The Confession is a key document of Lutheranism and its Presentation to Emperor Charles V in June 1530 was a momentous event of the Protestant Reformation. This symphony was written for a full orchestra and was Mendelssohn's second extended symphony. It was not published until 1868, 21 years after the composer's death – hence its numbering as '5'. Although the symphony is not very frequently performed, it is better known today than it was during Mendelssohn's lifetime.

Date of composition 1830
Type Symphony
Tonality D Major
Catalogue Op. 107
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: Symphonie n°5 en ré majeur, Op. 107 "Reformation"
Felix Mendelssohn: Sinfonia n. 5 in re maggiore, Op. 107 "Reformation"
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Sinfonie Nr. 5 D-dur, Op. 107 "Reformation"