The Piano Sonata No. 2 in F-sharp minor, Op. 2 of Johannes Brahms was written in Hamburg, Germany in 1852, and published the year after. Despite being his second published work, it was actually composed before his first piano sonata, but was published later because Brahms recognized the importance of an inaugural publication and felt that the C major sonata was of higher quality. It was sent along with his first sonata to Breitkopf und Härtel with a letter of recommendation from Robert Schumann. Schumann had already praised Brahms enthusiastically, and the sonata shows signs of an effort to impress, with its technical demands and highly dramatic nature. It was dedicated to Clara Schumann.

Premiered 1855 in Frankfurt, Germany
First published 1854
Dedicated to Clara Schumann (Wieck)
Type Sonata
Tonality F-sharp Minor
Catalogue Op. 2
Approx. duration 27 minutes
Instruments Piano
Autotranslations beta Johannes Brahms: Sonate pour piano n°2 en fa dièse mineur, Op. 2
Johannes Brahms: Sonata per pianoforte n. 2 in fa diesis minore, Op. 2
Johannes Brahms: Sonate Nr. 2 für Klavier fis-moll, Op. 2