The Violin Sonata No. 4 of Ludwig van Beethoven in A minor, his Opus 23, was composed in 1801, published in October that year, and dedicated to Count Moritz von Fries. It followed by one year the composition of his first symphony, and was originally meant to be published alongside Violin Sonata No. 5, however it was published on different sized paper, so the opus numbers had to be split. Unlike the three first sonatas, Sonata No. 4 received a favourable reception from critics.

Date of composition 1801
First published 1801
Type Sonata
Tonality A Minor
Catalogue Op. 23
Approx. duration 19 minutes
Instruments Violin
Autotranslations beta Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonate pour violon n°4 en la mineur, Op. 23
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata per violino n. 4 in la minore, Op. 23
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonate Nr. 4 für Violine a-moll, Op. 23