The Piano Quartet in G minor, Op. 25, was composed by Johannes Brahms between 1856 and 1861. It was premiered in 1861 in Hamburg, with Clara Schumann playing the piano. It was also played in Vienna on November 16, 1862, with Brahms himself at the piano supported by members of the Hellmesberger Quartet. Like most piano quartets, it is scored for piano, violin, viola and cello.

Date of composition 1861
Premiered 1861, November 16th in Hamburg, Germany by Clara Schumann (Wieck)
First published 1863, N. Simrock in Bonn, Germany
Type Piano Quartet
Tonality G Minor
Catalogue Op. 25
Approx. duration 40 minutes
Instruments Piano
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Johannes Brahms: Quatuor pour piano n°1 en sol mineur, Op. 25
Johannes Brahms: Quartetto per pianoforte n. 1 in sol minore, Op. 25
Johannes Brahms: Quartett Nr. 1 für Klavier g-moll, Op. 25