Johannes Brahms' String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Opus 36 was composed during the years of 1864–1865 and published by the firm of Fritz Simrock. It was first performed in Boston, Massachusetts on October 11, 1866. The work is scored for two violins, two violas, and two celli, and has four movements:

Date of composition 1865 (1864-1865)
Premiered 1866, October 11th in Boston, MA, United States
First published 1866, N.Simrock in Bonn, Germany
Type Sextet
Tonality G Major
Catalogue Op. 36
Approx. duration 39 minutes
Instruments 2x Cello
2x Viola
2x Violin
Autotranslations beta Johannes Brahms: String Sextet n°2 en sol majeur, Op. 36
Johannes Brahms: String Sextet n. 2 in sol maggiore, Op. 36
Johannes Brahms: String Sextet Nr. 2 G-dur, Op. 36