Die Frau ohne Schatten (The Woman without a Shadow), Op. 65, is an opera in three acts by Richard Strauss with a libretto by his long-time collaborator, the poet Hugo von Hofmannsthal. It was written between 1911 and either 1915 or 1917. When it premiered in Vienna on 10 October 1919, critics and audiences were unenthusiastic. Many cited problems with Hofmannsthal's complicated and heavily symbolic libretto. However, it is now a standard part of the operatic repertoire.

Original Name Die Frau ohne Schatten
Librettist Hugo von Hofmannsthal
Date of composition 1917 (1911-1917)
Premiered 1919, October 10th in Vienna, Austria
First published 1919
Type Opera
Catalogue TrV 234
Approx. duration 210 minutes
Spoken language German
Instruments Chorus/Choir
Voice (Tenor) - The Emperor (Der Kaiser)
Voice (Soprano) - High dramatic soprano ; The Empress (Die Kaiserin), Keikobad's daughter
Voice (Mezzo-Soprano) - Dramatic mezzo-soprano ; The Nurse (Die Amme), her guardian
Voice (Bass-Baritone) - Barak, the Dyer (Barak, der Färber)
Voice (Soprano) - High dramatic soprano ; The Dyer's Wife (Die Färberin)
Voice (Bass) - High ; The One-eyed Man (Der Einäugige), Barak's brother
Voice (Bass) - The One-Armed Man (Der Einarmige), Barak's brother
Voice (Tenor) - High ; The Hunchback (Der Bucklige), Barak's brother
Voice (Tenor) - The Messenger of Keikobad (Geisterbote)
Voice (Soprano) - The Voice of a Falcon (Die Stimme des Falken)
Voice (Tenor) - High ; The Apparition of a Youth (Die Erscheinung eines Jünglings)
Voice (Soprano) - The Guardian of the Threshold (Der Hüter der Schwelle des Tempels)
Voice (Contralto) - A Voice From Above (Stimme von oben)
Arrangements Richard Strauss: Symphonic Fantasy from Die Frau ohne Schatten, TrV 234a
Autotranslations beta Richard Strauss: The Woman without a Shadow, TrV 234
Richard Strauss: The Woman without a Shadow, TrV 234
Richard Strauss: The Woman without a Shadow, TrV 234