Friedenstag (Peace Day) is an opera in one act by Richard Strauss, his Opus 81 and TrV 271, to a German libretto by Joseph Gregor. The opera was premiered at Munich on 24 July 1938 and dedicated to Viorica Ursuleac and her husband Clemens Krauss, the lead and conductor respectively. Strauss had intended Friedenstag as part of a double-bill, to be conducted by Karl Böhm in Dresden, that would include as the second part his next collaboration with Gregor, Daphne. The opera thematically expresses anti-war sentiments, which William Mann has described as "a determined counter to the militaristic policies of Nazi Germany". These caused the work to be shelved after the outbreak of World War II.

Original Name Friedenstag
Librettist Joseph Gregor
Date of composition 1936 (1935-1936)
Premiered 1938, July 24th in Munich, Germany
First published 1938
Type Opera
Catalogue TrV 271
Approx. duration 80 minutes
Spoken language German
Instruments Orchestra
Voice (Baritone) - Commandant of the beleaguered town
Voice (Soprano) - Maria, the commandant's wife
Voice (Bass) - A Sergeant-Major
Voice (Tenor) - A corporal
Voice (Tenor) - A private soldier
Voice (Bass) - A musketeer
Voice (Bass) - A bugler
Voice (Baritone) - An officer
Voice (Baritone) - A front-line officer
Voice (Tenor) - A Piedmontese
Voice (Bass) - The Holsteiner, commanding the besieging army
Voice (Tenor) - The burgomaster
Voice (Baritone) - The bishop
Voice (Soprano) - A woman of the people
Autotranslations beta Richard Strauss: Peace Day, TrV 271
Richard Strauss: Peace Day, TrV 271
Richard Strauss: Peace Day, TrV 271