The symphony, written for a standard orchestra consisting of 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B-flat, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in F and C, 3 trombones, tuba, timpani, and strings, was premiered by Theodore Thomas conducting the New York Philharmonic on December 13, 1884. The European premiere, with Strauss himself conducting, took place in October 1885 (on the same night he was the soloist in Mozart's Piano Concerto No. 24, K. 491, with his own cadenza). In 1887 he played it again with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra.

Date of composition 1884 (1883-1884)
Premiered 1884, December 13th in New York, NY, United States
First published 1885
Type Symphony
Tonality F Major
Catalogue TrV 126
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Richard Strauss: Symphonie n°2 en fa majeur, TrV 126
Richard Strauss: Sinfonia n. 2 in fa maggiore, TrV 126
Richard Strauss: Sinfonie Nr. 2 F-dur, TrV 126