The Violin Sonata in F minor, Op. 4, for violin and piano was composed by Felix Mendelssohn in 1825 and is the only one to carry an opus number. Mendelssohn composed two other violin sonatas, both in F major, that are without opus numbers.

Date of composition 1823
First published 1824
Type Sonata
Tonality F Minor
Catalogue Op. 4
Approx. duration 20 minutes
Instruments Violin
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: Sonate pour violon en fa mineur, Op. 4
Felix Mendelssohn: Sonata per violino in fa minore, Op. 4
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Sonate für Violine f-moll, Op. 4