The concert overture The Hebrides (/ˈhɛbrᵻdiːz/; German: Die Hebriden), Op. 26, also known as Fingal's Cave (Die Fingalshöhle), was composed by Mendelssohn in 1830. The second edition of this Overture was completed on June 1832. The piece was inspired by Mendelssohn's visit to Fingal's Cave on the island of Staffa, located in the Hebrides archipelago off the west coast of Scotland. As was common in the Romantic era, this is not an overture in the sense that it precedes a play or opera; it is a concert overture, a stand-alone musical selection, and has now become part of standard orchestral repertoire. The piece was dedicated to King Frederick William IV of Prussia (then Crown Prince of Prussia).

Date of composition 1830 (revised in 1832)
Premiered 1832, May 14th in London, United Kingdom
First published 1833
Type Overture
Tonality B Minor
Catalogue Op. 26
Instruments Orchestra
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: The Hebrides en si mineur, Op. 26 "Fingal's Cave"
Felix Mendelssohn: The Hebrides in si minore, Op. 26 "Fingal's Cave"
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: The Hebrides h-moll, Op. 26 "Fingal's Cave"