This work was premièred on 29 October 1837 at Leipzig with great success, and published as a full score in 1840. The piece is part of the Op. 44 set of 3 string quartets that Mendelssohn dedicated to the Crown Prince of Sweden. While Mendelssohn's first and second quartet were written under the influence of Beethoven, Op.44 exhibits a clear sprouting of the composer's originality in style.

Date of composition 1837 (revised in 1839)
Premiered 1837, October 29th in Leipzig, Germany
First published 1840
Type String Quartet
Tonality E Minor
Catalogue Op. 44/2
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Viola
2x Violin
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: Quatuor à cordes n°4 en mi mineur, Op. 44/2
Felix Mendelssohn: Quartetto d'archi n. 4 in mi minore, Op. 44/2
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Streichquartett Nr. 4 e-moll, Op. 44/2