The String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80 was composed by Felix Mendelssohn in 1847. It was the last major piece he completed before he died two months later on 4 November 1847. He composed the piece as an hommage to his sister Fanny who had died on 17 May of that year and it bore the title "Requiem for Fanny."

Date of composition 1847
Premiered 1847, October 5th
First published 1850, Breitkopf & Härtel in Leipzig, Germany
Dedicated to Fanny Hensel Mendelssohn
Type String Quartet
Tonality F Minor
Catalogue Op. 80
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Viola
2x Violin
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: Quatuor à cordes n°6 en fa mineur, Op. 80
Felix Mendelssohn: Quartetto d'archi n. 6 in fa minore, Op. 80
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Streichquartett Nr. 6 f-moll, Op. 80