Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 11, is a work by Felix Mendelssohn, which was completed on March 31, 1824, when the composer was only 15 years old. However, the autographed score was not published until 1831. The symphony was dedicated to the Royal Philharmonic Society, who performed the London première on May 25, 1829, with Mendelssohn conducting. For this performance Mendelssohn orchestrated the scherzo from his Octet Op. 20 as an alternative third movement for the symphony. The work was premièred at a private gathering on 14 November 1824 to honor his sister Fanny Mendelssohn's 19th birthday. Its public première occurred on 1 February 1827, with the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra performing under the leadership of its then-Kapellmeister Johann Philipp Christian Schulz. A typical performance lasts half an hour.

Date of composition 1824 (March 31, 1824)
Premiered 1829, May 25th by Felix Mendelssohn
Type Symphony
Tonality C Minor
Catalogue Op. 11
Approx. duration 30 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Felix Mendelssohn: Symphonie n°1 en do mineur, Op. 11
Felix Mendelssohn: Sinfonia n. 1 in do minore, Op. 11
Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Sinfonie Nr. 1 c-moll, Op. 11