The Magnificat in E-flat major, BWV 243a, by Johann Sebastian Bach is a musical setting of the Latin text of the Magnificat, Mary's canticle from the Gospel of Luke. It was composed in 1723 and is in twelve movements. Bach revised the work ten years later, transposing it from E-flat major to D major, and creating the version mostly performed today, BWV 243. The work is scored for five vocal parts (two sopranos, alto, tenor and bass) and a Baroque orchestra of trumpets, timpani, oboes, strings and basso continuo including bassoon.

Librettist (Bible, Luke 1:46–55)
Date of composition 1723
Premiered 1723, December 25th in Leipzig, Germany
First published 1862
Type Religious work
Tonality E-flat Major
Catalogue BWV 243a
Spoken language Latin
Instruments Tenor Horn/Alto Horn
Chorus/Choir - Mixed Chorus ;
2x Voice (Soprano)
2x Voice (Tenor)
Autotranslations beta Jean-Sébastien Bach: Magnificat en mi bémol majeur, BWV 243a
Johann Sebastian Bach: Magnificat in mi bemolle maggiore, BWV 243a
Johann Sebastian Bach: Magnificat Es-dur, BWV 243a