Stravinsky’s Octet is scored for an unusual combination of woodwind and brass instruments: flute, clarinet in B♭ and A, two bassoons, trumpet in C, trumpet in A, tenor trombone, and bass trombone. Because of its dry wind sonorities, divertimento character, and open and self-conscious adoption of "classical" forms of the German tradition (sonata, variation, fugue), as well as the fact that the composer published an article asserting his formalist ideas about it shortly after the Octet's first performance, it has been generally regarded as the beginning of neoclassicism in Stravinsky's music, even though his opera Mavra (1921–22) already displayed most of the traits associated with this phase of his career (Walsh 2001, §5).

Date of composition 1923 (1922-1923) in Biarritz, France
Premiered 1923, October 18th (Opéra de Paris) in Paris, France by Igor Stravinsky
Type Octet
Approx. duration 15 minutes
Instruments Flute
Autotranslations beta Igor Stravinsky: Octet for wind instruments
Igor' Fëdorovič Stravinskij: Octet for wind instruments
Igor Strawinsky: Octet for wind instruments