The War Requiem, Op. 66, is a large-scale, non-liturgical setting of the Requiem composed by Benjamin Britten mostly in 1961 and completed in January 1962. The War Requiem was performed for the consecration of the new Coventry Cathedral, which was built after the original fourteenth-century structure was destroyed in a World War II bombing raid. The traditional Latin texts are interspersed, in telling juxtaposition, with settings of poems by Wilfred Owen, written in World War I. The work is scored for soprano, tenor and baritone soloists, chorus, boys' choir, organ, and two orchestras (a full orchestra and a chamber orchestra). The chamber orchestra accompanies the intimate settings of the English poetry, while soprano, choirs and orchestra are used for the Latin sections; all forces are combined in the conclusion. The Requiem has a duration of approximately 90 minutes.

Date of composition 1962 (1961-1962)
Premiered 1962, May 30th (At the festival to celebrate the consecration of St Michael's Cathedral) in Coventry, United Kingdom
Dedicated to 'In loving memory of Roger Burney, Sub-Lieutenant R.N.V.R., Piers Dunkerley, Captain Royal Marines, David Gill, Ordinary Seaman, Royal Navy, Michael Halliday, Lieutenant R.N.Z.N.V.R.'
Type Requiem
Catalogue BTC 1106
Approx. duration 85 minutes
Instruments Voice (Soprano)
Voice (Tenor)
Voice (Baritone)
Chamber orchestra
Boys Chorus
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Benjamin Britten: War Requiem, BTC 1106
Benjamin Britten: War Requiem, BTC 1106
Benjamin Britten: War Requiem, BTC 1106