The piece is subtitled "Melodia lírica" (Lyrical Melody), is in E minor, and is the first of the Five Preludes, written in 1940. The others are in E major, A minor, E minor, and D major. It was first performed, together with its four companions, by Abel Carlevaro in Montevideo on 11 December 1942 (Villa-Lobos, sua obra 2009, 153).

Tempo Andantino espressivo Più mosso
Date of composition 1940
Type Prelude
Tonality E Minor
Instruments Guitar
Autotranslations beta Heitor Villa-Lobos: Prélude n°1 en mi mineur
Heitor Villa-Lobos: Preludio n. 1 in mi minore
Heitor Villa-Lobos: Präludium Nr. 1 e-moll