The String Sextet in D minor "Souvenir de Florence", Op. 70, is a string sextet scored for 2 violins, 2 violas, and 2 cellos composed in the summer of 1890 by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. Tchaikovsky dedicated the work to the St. Petersburg Chamber Music Society in response to his becoming an Honorary Member. The work, in the traditional four-movement form, was titled "Souvenir de Florence" because the composer sketched one of the work's principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy, where he composed The Queen of Spades. The work was revised between December 1891 and January 1892, before being premiered in 1892.

Date of composition 1890 (Revised in 1891-1892)
Premiered 1890, December 10th in Saint Petersburg, Russia
Dedicated to Dedicated to the St. Petersburg Chamber Music Society
Type Sextet
Tonality D Minor
Catalogue Op. 70
Approx. duration 35 minutes
Instruments 2x Violin
2x Cello
2x Viola
In listings Famous Works
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: String Sextet en ré mineur, Op. 70 "Souvenir de Florence"
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: String Sextet in re minore, Op. 70 "Souvenir de Florence"
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: String Sextet d-moll, Op. 70 "Souvenir de Florence"