Romeo and Juliet, TH 42, ČW 39, is an orchestral work composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky. It is styled an Overture-Fantasy, and is based on Shakespeare's play of the same name. Like other composers such as Berlioz and Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky was deeply inspired by Shakespeare and wrote works based on The Tempest and Hamlet as well.

Librettist William Shakespeare
Tempo Andante non tanto quasi Moderato—Allegro giusto
Date of composition 1880 (Composed in 1869, revised in 1870 and 1880)
Premiered 1886, March 1st in Tiflis, Tbilisi, Georgia
Dedicated to Dedicated to Mily Balakirev
Type Symphonic Poem
Tonality B Minor
Approx. duration 20 minutes
Instruments Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski: Romeo and Juliet en si mineur
Pëtr Il'ič Čajkovskij: Romeo and Juliet in si minore
Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski: Romeo and Juliet h-moll