Il cimento dell'armonia e dell'inventione (The Contest Between Harmony and Invention) is a set of twelve concertos written by Antonio Vivaldi between 1723 and 1725 and published in 1725 as Op. 8. All are for violin solo, strings, and basso continuo. The first four concertos are usually known as The Four Seasons (Le quattro stagioni).

Date of composition 1723 (1723-1725)
First published 1725 in Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Type Concerto
Tonality C Major
Catalogue RV 178
Approx. duration 9 minutes
Detail in: "Il cimento dell'armonia e dell'invenzione"
Instruments Violin
String Orchestra
Autotranslations beta Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto pour violon n°12 en do majeur, RV 178
Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto per violino n. 12 in do maggiore, RV 178
Antonio Vivaldi: Konzert Nr. 12 für Violine C-dur, RV 178